The KulturQuartier Museums and Exhibitions

Automuseum Prototyp

Discover the fascination of German racing history in the Automuseum PROTOTYP. Around 45 rare sports and racing cars and prototypes as well as the life stories of legendary race drivers and ingenious designers. Further highlights: Porsche 356 driving simulator, integrated cinema, miniature wind channel model and transparent workshop. Bistro & café, shop, event areas. Varying special exhibitions.

Shanghaiallee 7, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-39 99 69 70
Tue–Sun 10am–6pm

www.prototyp-hamburg.de

Cap San Diego Hamburg

The largest seaworthy museum cargo ship in the world! Experience and discover 160 metros of shipping history and embark on a long voyage with the English booklet. Stop for a break in the “Bord-Bistro” and stay the night on, instead of by, the Elbe river in one of our passenger cabins. Or even set sail with us! Experience the ship while she’s going full ahead and enjoy her technical equipment. The Cap San Diego Crew will be delighted in your visit.

Berth Überseebrücke, 20459 Hamburg
Tel. 040-36 42 09
Open daily 10am–6pm
English booklet available

www.capsandiego.de

Deutsches Zollmuseum

The Deutsches Zollmuseum is located in the historical custom office at Kornhausbrücke. The history of customs from the early beginning to the present is depicted in the museum: certificates and contracts, hiding places and smuggled goods, uniforms and even a customs cutter are waiting to be discovered. A real-life, comprehensive exhibition of the work performed by customs, with around 1,000 exhibits on 800 sq.m.

Alter Wandrahm 16, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-30 08 76-11
Tue–Sun 10am–5pm

www.museum.zoll.de

Dialoghaus Hamburg gGmbH

The Dialoghaus (Dialogue House) opens up worlds in complete darkness and silence and lets you experience the potential of the ageing process with the exhibitions Dialogue in the Dark, Dialogue in Silence and Dialogue with Time. The original Dinner in the Dark offers an intensive experience. The programme for school classes fascinates both schoolchildren and teachers. We also offer inspiring rooms and formats for personnel development measures.

DIALOGHAUS HAMBURG gGmbH
Alter Wandrahm 4, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-309 63 40
Tue–Fri 9am–6pm,
The current opening hours can be found on our website:

www.dialog-in-hamburg.de

HafenCity InfoCenter in Kesselhaus

Once the Kesselhaus (former boiler house) generated energy for the Speicherstadt; today it is the information centre for Hamburg’s most famous urban development project, HafenCity. Have a look at the model of the growing city district layout and find out how far its realization has progressed – or just enjoy some culinary delights in our café overlooking the canal.

Am Sandtorkai 30, Kesselhaus, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-36 90 17 99
Tue–Sun 10am–6pm, Admission free,
Tours on request

www.hafencity.com

Hamburg Dungeon

The journey through over 600 years of Hamburg’s dark history starts in the “Gängeviertel”, where the famous “Speicherstadt” is now found. The visitors have to escape the great fire of 1842, face inquisition and will meet the ghost of Maria Katharina Wächtler. A 90-minute tour with professional actors and two rides — nerve-wracking, scary and fun, from 10 years upward.

Kehrwieder 2, Block D, 20457 Hamburg,
Tel. 01806-66 69 01 40
(0,20 €/min German landline)
The current opening hours can be found on our website:

www.thedungeons.com

Internationales Maritimes Museum Hamburg

Where Hamburg’s maritime heart beats. More than 40,000 miniture models, a treasure trove of ships in gold and silver and the QUEEN MARY 2 made up of a million Lego bricks. Particularly popular: the high-tech ship simulator. Event areas for 10 to 400 people in Hamburg’s oldest, preserved warehouse. Restaurant, bistro, shop, bookshop.

Kaispeicher B
Koreastraße 1, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-30 09 23 00
Tue–Sun 10am–6pm

www.imm-hamburg.de

Miniatur Wunderland Model Railway

Miniatur Wunderland is the visitor magnet of the Speicherstadt. 16,000,000 visitors have already seen the largest model railway exhibition in the world: 1,300 sq.m. of model world superlatives. From Scandinavia, via Las Vegas and Hamburg, to the miniature airport covering 150 sq.m. — eight unique theme worlds have been constructed in over 800,000 working hours.

Kehrwieder 2, Block D, 20457 Hamburg,
Tel. 040-300 68 00
Open daily, 9:30am–6pm, Tue till 9pm Fri till 7pm,
Sat 8am–10pm, Sun and holidays 8:30am–8pm

www.miniatur-wunderland.com

Osaka 9 – HafenCity sustainability pavilion

The core topics of ecologically sustainable urban development in the HafenCity can be seen in the OSAKA 9 Exhibition. The 120 sq.m.-sized exhibition pavilion is located along the riverside promenade by the Magdeburger Hafen. Refreshing beverages and small snacks, all from Fair Trade and organic origins, are available from the counter of the small CaféBar.

Osakaallee 9 on the promenade, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-37 47 26 60
Tue–Sun 10am–6pm
Admission free, Tours on request

www.hafencity.com

Speicherstadtmuseum

Discover Hamburg‘s world heritage! In an authentic warehouse dating from 1888 you gain an insight into the traditional work of the warehouse keepers as well as typical import goods such as coffee, tea or cocoa. Further topics are the tea and coffee trade and the building of the Speicherstadt, all illustrated with historic photos, maps and plans. All information boards in our exhibition include a summary in English. Museum café and shop. Current guided tours: see our website.

Am Sandtorkai 36, 20457 Hamburg,
Tel. 040-32 11 91
Mon–Fri 10am–5pm, Sat, Sun and holidays 10am–6pm,
December to February Tue–Sun 10am–5pm

www.speicherstadtmuseum.de

Spicy’s Gewürzmuseum

The only spice museum in the world. Smelling, tasting and feeling approx. 50 raw spices is expressly allowed. More than 900 exhibits from the last five centuries tell the history of spices from their planting and growing right up to the finished product. Alternating special exhibitions. Group guided tours possible upon prior booking.

Am Sandtorkai 34, Block L, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-36 79 89
Tue – Sun and holidays 10am – 5pm
From July to October also open Mon

www.spicys.de

Where is what in historic warehouse district and HafenCity?

The Guide System

The guide system established in the historic warehouse district comprises eleven panels located along key access routes and in prominent places, providing background information on Hamburg's port district and its attractions. It also clearly shows the locations of the museums and exhibitions   as well as the sectors and names of the institutions and companies whose advertisements are helping to finance the joint public relations activities of the KulturQuartier initiative. The steles have been designed in conjunction with the historic monuments authority and the owner of the historic warehouse district, Hamburger Hafen und Logistik Aktiengesellschaft, to match the historical look and feel of district and feature appropriate colors.

Film

The history of the Warehouse District

The historic warehouse district – an industrial world heritage

The "Speicherstadt", as it is known in German, is an internationally unique historic warehouse complex which was constructed at the end of the 19th century in what at the time was the newly developed free port. Elaborately designed warehouses line the customs canals over a distance of two kilometres, linked by many picturesque riveted bridges across. In addition to its original use, this "city within a city" has become home to a large number of different exhibitions and museums. The historic warehouse and counting house district including the "Chilehaus" was named a UNESCO world heritage in July 2015.

Chronology

1881 Hamburg concludes the Customs Union Treaty with the German Reich which provides for the establishment of a free port in which imported goods can be handled and stored free of duty.
1882 The Senate decides to build the new free-port warehouses on Brook Island to the south of the Altstadt.
1883 Construction of the Speicherstadt begins with the demolition of the baroque half-timbered area on Kehrwieder.
1888 The free port opens on 15 October. The official celebrations take place two weeks later in the presence of Kaiser Wilhelm II.
1898 Two-thirds of the Speicherstadt is completed. Work begins on the eastern construction phase.
1914 The First World War puts a stop to expansion of the Speicherstadt. Blocks Y and Z are never realized.
1943/44 More than 50 per cent of the Speicherstadt is destroyed in air raids during the Second World War.
1967 Rebuilding of the Speicherstadt finishes with the completion of Block T in Alten Wandrahm.
2003 The Speicherstadt and the area of the HafenCity are released from the confines of the free port.
2008 From March 2008, the Speicherstadt and HafenCity comprise the new city district of the HafenCity.
2015 In early July, the historic warehouse and counting house district together with the "Chilehaus" was named a UNESCO world heritage on account of their universal significance.

HafenCity

Hamburg's new city by the waterfront

South of the Speicherstadt, the HafenCity is taking shape, a new city centre district with a lively mix of homes, offices, leisure, shopping and culture. It is always worth a trip to enjoy the free summer program, to watch the ships at the Cruise Terminal, in the Traditional Ship Harbour or on the Elbe. Promenades, cafés and restaurants between the Elbphilharmonie and the Lohsepark are ideal for strolling and dining.

Imprint

IG Kulturquartier Speicherstadt und HafenCity

Contact: Thomas Hampel
c./o. E&F Edition | Hampel & Hettchen GbR | Lastropsweg 1 | 20255 Hamburg
Telephone +49 [0]40. 30 39 30 39 | Fax +49 [0]40.30 39 30 01
post@euf-edition.de | euf-edition.de | facebook.com/elbe.flut
facebook.com/igkulturquartier

Photos: ELBE&FLUT Edition Archiv, Thomas Hampel, Heinz-Joachim Hettchen, IG KulturQuartier Speicherstadt und HafenCity
Film: Perspektive Media
Map: IG KulturQuartier Speicherstadt und HafenCity

Die Museen und Aussteller im Kulturquartier

Automuseum Prototyp

Im Automuseum Prototyp erleben Sie die Faszination der deutschen Rennsport-geschichte. Rund 45 einzigartige Rennwagen sowie Prototypen entführen Sie zu den Rennstrecken der frühen Nachkriegszeit. Eine begehbare Audiobox, der Porsche 356-Fahrsimulator sowie Filme und digitalisierte Fotoalben vermitteln Rennsport hautnah. Auf drei Ebenen warten außerdem das Café Erlkönig, Eventflächen sowie eine Galerie.

Shanghaiallee 7, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-39 99 69 70
Di–So 10–18 Uhr

www.prototyp-hamburg.de

Cap San Diego Hamburg

Das größte fahrtüchtige Museumsfrachtschiff der Welt! Erleben und entdecken Sie 160 Meter Seefahrtsgeschichte und gehen Sie auf große Fahrt mit dem Audio-Guide. Machen Sie Pause im BordBistro und übernachten Sie auf, statt an der Elbe in unseren Passagierkabinen. Oder fahren Sie einfach mal mit! Erforschen Sie das Schiff bei voller Fahrt und erleben Sie Technik, die begeistert! Die Crew der Cap San Diego freut sich auf Ihren Besuch.

Liegeplatz Überseebrücke, 20459 Hamburg
Tel. 040-36 42 09
täglich geöffnet 10–18 Uhr
Audio-Guide

www.capsandiego.de

Deutsches Zollmuseum

Das Deutsche Zollmuseum befindet sich im historischen Zollamt an der Kornhausbrücke. Hier wird die Zollgeschichte vom Altertum bis zur Gegenwart anschaulich präsentiert: Urkunden und Verträge, Verstecke und Schmuggelwaren, Uniformen und sogar ein kompletter Zollkreuzer sind zu entdecken. Rund 1.000 Ausstellungsstücke auf 800 qm von A wie Akzise bis Z wie Zollhund vermitteln die Arbeit des Zolls in einer lebendigen Ausstellung.

Alter Wandrahm 16, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-30 08 76-11
Di–So 10–17 Uhr

www.museum.zoll.de

Dialog im Dunkeln® Und Dialog im Stillen®

DIALOG IM DUNKELN® – Die Entdeckung des Unsichtbaren. Begeben Sie sich auf eine Reise in völlige Dunkelheit. Erleben Sie Alltagssituationen im Leben ohne Ihren Sehsinn. DIALOG IM STILLEN® – Die Entdeckung des Unsagbaren. Die Besucher tauchen in die Welt der Gehörlosen ein. Lernen Sie mit den Augen zu hören, mit den Händen zu sprechen und nonverbal zu kommunizieren.

Alter Wandrahm 4, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-309 63 40
Di, Mi, Do 9–17 Uhr, Fr 9–19 Uhr, Sa 10–20 Uhr, So 10–18 Uhr

www.dialog-im-dunkeln.de
www.dialog-im-stillen.de

HafenCity InfoCenter im Kesselhaus

Das Kesselhaus: Früher Energiezentrale für die Speicherstadt, heute Informationszentrum für Hamburgs bedeutendstes Stadtentwicklungsprojekt, die HafenCity. Werfen Sie anhand des städtebaulichen Modells einen Blick auf den wachsenden Stadtteil, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Realisierungsstand oder genießen Sie einfach kleine Köstlichkeiten in unserem Café am Fleet.

Am Sandtorkai 30, Kesselhaus, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-36 90 17 99
Di bis So 10–18 Uhr, Mai bis Sept. Do bis 20 Uhr, Eintritt frei
Öffentl. Führungen: Sa 15 Uhr, Mai–Sept. Do 18:30 Uhr

www.hafencity.com

Hamburg Dungeon

Die Reise zurück in die Geschichte Hamburgs startet in einem düsteren Fahrstuhl. Hier geht die Fahrt los … abwärts. In einem 100-minütigen Rundgang fliehen die Besucher vor dem großen Brand von 1842, werden im 30-jährigen Krieg erhängt und zusammen mit Klaus Störtebeker geköpft. Eine unterhaltsame Show mit Schauspielern, Fahrattraktionen und Spezialeffekten für Groß und Klein ab 10 Jahren.

Kehrwieder 2, Block D, 20457 Hamburg,
Tel. 01806-66 69 01 40
(0,20 €/min aus dem dt. Festnetz)
Öffnungszeiten siehe Website:

www.thedungeons.com

Internationales Maritimes Museum Hamburg

Hier schlägt Hamburgs maritimes Herz: Wind und Wellen, Entdecker und Piraten. Über 40.000 Miniaturmodelle, eine Schatzkammer mit Schiffen aus Gold und Silber und die QUEEN MARY 2 aus einer Million Legosteinen. Das Maritime Museum zeigt in Hamburgs ältestem, noch erhaltenem Speicher 3.000 Jahre Schifffahrtsgeschichte. Besonders beliebt: der Hightech-Schiffssimulator.

Kaispeicher B
Koreastraße 1, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-30 09 23 00
Di–So 10–18 Uhr

www.imm-hamburg.de

Miniatur Wunderland Modelleisenbahn

Das Miniatur Wunderland ist der Besuchermagnet in der Speicherstadt. 12.500.000 Besucher haben die größte Modelleisenbahn der Welt bereits besucht. Auf 1.300 qm erstreckt sich eine Modellwelt der Superlative. Von Skandinavien nach Las Vegas über Hamburg bis hin zum 150 qm großen Miniaturflughafen – in 600.000 Arbeitsstunden sind acht weltweit einmalige Themenwelten entstanden.

Kehrwieder 2, Block D, 20457 Hamburg,
Tel. 040-300 68 00
täglich geöffnet 9:30–18 Uhr, Di 9:30–21 Uhr,
Fr 9:30–19 Uhr, Sa 8–21 Uhr, So und feiertags 8:30–20 Uhr

www.miniatur-wunderland.de

Osaka 9 – HafenCity Nachhaltigkeitspavillon

Die Kernthemen ökologisch nachhaltiger Stadtentwicklung in der HafenCity sind in der Ausstellung OSAKA 9 erlebbar. Der 120 qm große Ausstellungspavillon befindet sich an der Uferpromenade des Magdeburger Hafens. Getränke und kleine Snacks, alles fair und bio, gibt es zur Stärkung am Tresen der kleinen CaféBar.

Osakaallee 9 an der Uferpromenade, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-37 47 26 60
Di–So 10–18 Uhr, Eintritt frei
Öffentl. Führungen: So 15 Uhr

www.hafencity.com

Speicherstadtmuseum

Griepen, Taxameter, Kaffeesäcke und Probenstecher: Im authentischen Rahmen eines Speichers von 1888 werden Importgüter und Arbeitsgeräte gezeigt, die die Arbeit der Quartiersleute (Lagerhalter) illustrieren. Weitere Themen sind der Tee- und Kaffeehandel und der Bau der Speicherstadt. Museumscafé. Sonntag 11 Uhr (ganzjährig) und Samstag 15 Uhr (März bis Okt.) öffentliche Speicherstadtrundgänge inklusive Museumsführung.

Am Sandtorkai 36, 20457 Hamburg,
Tel. 040-32 11 91
Mo bis Fr 10–17 Uhr, Sa, So und Feiertage 10–18 Uhr,
Dez. bis Februar Di bis So 10–17 Uhr

www.speicherstadtmuseum.de

Spicy’s Gewürzmuseum

Im einzigen Gewürzmuseum der Welt ist das Riechen, Schmecken und Anfassen von über 50 Rohgewürzen ausdrücklich erlaubt. Über 900 Exponate aus den letzten fünf Jahrhunderten erzählen die unterhaltsame Geschichte der Gewürze vom Anbau in exotischen Ländern bis zum Fertigprodukt auf unseren Tischen. Es werden wechselnde Sonderausstellungen sowie Gruppenführungen nach Anmeldung geboten.http://www.spicys.de

Am Sandtorkai 34, Block L, 20457 Hamburg
Tel. 040-36 79 89
täglich geöffnet 10–17 Uhr
auch Sonntags und Feiertags

www.spicys.de

Wo ist was im Kulturquartier Speicherstadt und HafenCity

Das Informations-Leitsystem

Das Informations-Leitsystem in der Speicherstadt bietet auf 11 Orientierungstafeln an Zugangswegen und auf markanten Plätzen umfassende Informationen über Hamburgs maritimes Quartier und seine Attraktionen. Die Standorte der Museen und Ausstellungen sind ebenso übersichtlich verzeichnet wie die Branchen und Namen von Institutionen und Unternehmen, die mit ihren Inseraten der Interessengemeinschaft KulturQuartier eine gemeinsame Öffentlichkeitsarbeit ermöglichen. Die Gestaltung der Stelen wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Denkmalschutzbehörde und dem Eigentümer der Speicherstadt, der Hamburger Hafen und Logistik Aktiengesellschaft, auf den Denkmal-Charakter der Speicherstadt und die Farben der historischen Beschilderung des Lagerhausviertels abgestimmt.

Der Film

Die Geschichte der Speicherstadt

Die Speicherstadt – ein industrielles Welterbe

Die Hamburger Speicherstadt ist ein weltweit einzigartiger historischer Lagerhauskomplex, der Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts innerhalb des damals neu konzipierten Freihafens errichtet wurde. Auf einer Strecke von über zwei Kilometern säumen aufwändig gestaltete Speicherblocks den Zollkanal und die malerischen, von vielen genieteten Brücken überquerten Fleete der Speicherstadt. Neben der ursprünglichen Nutzung hat sich diese „Stadt in der Stadt“ zur Heimat unterschiedlichster Ausstellungen und Museen entwickelt. Im Juli 2015 wurden die Speicherstadt und das Kontorhausviertel mit dem Chilehaus in die Welterbeliste der UNESCO eingetragen.

Zeittafel

1881 Hamburg schließt den Zollanschlussvertrag mit dem Deutschen Reich, der die Einrichtung eines Freihafens vorsieht, in dem Importgüter zollfrei umgeschlagen und gelagert werden können.
1882 Der Senat beschließt, die neuen Freihafenspeicher auf den Brookinseln im Süden der Altstadt zu errichten.
1883 Der Bau der Speicherstadt beginnt mit dem Abbruch des barocken Fachwerkviertels am Kehrwieder.
1888 Am 15. Oktober wird der Freihafen eröffnet. Zwei Wochen später findet der offizielle Festakt in Anwesenheit Kaiser Wilhelms II. statt.
1898 Die Speicherstadt ist zu zwei Drittel fertiggestellt. Nun beginnen die Arbeiten am östlichen Bauabschnitt.
1914 Der Erste Weltkrieg beendet den Ausbau der Speicherstadt. Die Blöcke Y und Z werden nicht mehr realisiert.
1943/44 Die Speicherstadt wird bei den Luftangriffen des Zweiten Weltkrieges zu über 50 Prozent zerstört.
1967 Der Wiederaufbau der Speicherstadt wird mit Block T am Alten Wandrahm abgeschlossen.
2003 Die Speicherstadt und das Gebiet der HafenCity werden aus dem Freihafen ausgegliedert.
2008 Seit März 2008 bilden Speicherstadt und HafenCity den neuen Stadtteil HafenCity.
2015 Anfang Juli werden die Speicherstadt und das Kontorhausviertel mit dem Chilehaus wegen ihrer universalen Bedeutung in die Welterbeliste der UNESCO aufgenommen.

Die HafenCity

Hamburgs neue City an der Elbe

Im Süden der Speicherstadt entsteht mit der HafenCity ein lebendiges, innerstädtisches Quartier unmittelbar an der Elbe mit einer Mischnutzung aus Wohnen, Büro, Freizeit, Einzelhandel und Kultur. Ein Ausflug lohnt sich immer, sei es, um das kulturelle Sommerprogramm auf den Plätzen und Promenaden kennenzulernen, sei es, um einmal luxuriöse Kreuzfahrtgiganten oder jahrzehntealte Traditionsschiffe aus der Nähe zu sehen. Auch die Baustellen der HafenCity bieten kulturellen Diskussionstoff: Mit der Elbphilharmonie entsteht ein weltbekanntes Konzerthaus in der westlichen HafenCity, das am 11. Januar 2017 eröffnet wird. Weitere Baustellen dokumentieren die Fertigstellung des Lohseparks als grüner Insel oder des Baakenhafens im Osten des Stadtteils.

Impressum

IG Kulturquartier Speicherstadt und HafenCity

Kontakt: Thomas Hampel
c./o. E&F Edition | Hampel & Hettchen GbR | Lastropsweg 1 | 20255 Hamburg
Telefon +49 [0]40. 30 39 30 39 | Fax +49 [0]40.30 39 30 01
post@euf-edition.de | euf-edition.de | facebook.com/elbe.flut
facebook.com/igkulturquartier

Fotos: ELBE&FLUT Edition Archiv, Thomas Hampel, Heinz-Joachim Hettchen, IG KulturQuartier Speicherstadt und HafenCity
Film: Perspektive Media
Karte: IG KulturQuartier Speicherstadt und HafenCity